Warning: Fake Email about Intuit Security Tool sent to QuickBooks users

Warning: Fake Email about Intuit Security Tool sent to QuickBooks users

There is a fake email being sent to QuickBooks users and it is NOT from Intuit.  It is a spam / phishing email. Do not click the link — delete the email.  Intuit is aware of it and posted this about the Fake Security Update.  Please help spread the word to alert other people.

The email states:

You will not be able to access your Intuit QuickBooks account without Intuit Security Tool (IST™) after 10th of April, 2011.

You can download Intuit Security Tool here.

After a successful download please run the setup for an automatic installation, then login to Intuit Quickbooks online to check that it is working properly.

You can get updates and notices about security issues from Intuit’s Online Security Center

From Intuit’s Fake Security Update: Here’s what you can do to protect yourself from a phishing attaInternet Securityck:

  1. If you suspect you have received a phishing email from Intuit, please forward it immediately to spoof@intuit.com. We will look into each reported instance.
  2. Make sure you subscribe to an anti-virus software and keep it up-to-date.
  3. Make sure you have updated your web browser to one that includes anti-phishing security features, such as Internet Explorer 7 or Firefox version 3 or higher
  4. Make sure that you keep up to date on the latest releases and patches for your operating systems and critical programs. These releases are frequently security related.
  5. Do not respond to emails asking for account, password, banking, or credit card information.
  6. Do not open up an attachment that claims to be a software update. We will not send any software updates via email.
  7. Make sure you have passwords on your computer and your payroll files.

4 thoughts on “Warning: Fake Email about Intuit Security Tool sent to QuickBooks users

  1. Faye

    Thanks for posting this. I really appreciate this. I don’t get a lot of time to browse things, so am careful with what I browse. Glad I browsed yours, Michelle.

  2. Michelle Long Post author

    You’re welcome Patty — I’m glad it helped you! They send out similar emails frequently (but change the wording) so always go to the Intuit website yourself to check on things — don’t click the links in the email.

  3. Patty Homo

    Thank you for posting this. I got one of those e-mail this morning and it was nice to find the confirmation of what I suspected right there on the Intuit community board.

    I followed your suggestion and forwarded the phishing e-mail to intuit.